Untold Stories of Melrose: Michaela Smith

The Untold Stories of Melrose is a series of interviews by two senior interns from Melrose High School, Freddie Kelley and Connor Locke, who have been working in my office for the past few weeks.

Michaela Smith

Michaela Smith is a METCO student at Melrose High School.

Black girls are the mules of the world. We carry the world on our shoulders. There’s so much we go through, from the crown of our head to the souls of our feet. There’s so much we carry. I feel like we walk on eggshells, everything we do, we’re just watched so closely, from the way we dress to the way we talk to the way we do our hair. It’s either we’re made fun of for it, or we are appropriated.

And it’s weird, because people want to be like us, but they don’t want to be us. They want to do the things they do, but they don’t want to be oppressed. They want to walk the way we walk and talk the way we talk, but they don’t want to struggle. And, I feel like being a black girl is hard. You have to do so much, and you have to be so much at once. It’s like, people look up to you, but then again you’re shamed by society. So, I want to be me, but if I’m me, then I’m shamed for it.

3 responses

  1. This is a great series. Kudos to the interviewers and interviewees.

  2. I am really enjoying this series as well. At first I wasn’t a fan of the structure of the interviews (mostly answers, not questions), but now I am liking the variation of longer and shorter stories. These really are untold stories of Melrose – nice job!

  3. Thank you for this Michaela, and sending my love.

Leave a Reply

