Untold Stories of Melrose: Mike Noone

The Untold Stories of Melrose is a series of interviews by two senior interns from Melrose High School, Freddie Kelley and Connor Locke, who have been working in my office for the past few weeks.

Michael Noone

Michael Noone is a social studies teacher at Melrose High School.

My father was killed in a car accident when I was two and a half years old. He was hit by a drunk driver coming home at night. While I wasn’t old enough to know what happened at the time, that event has certainly had an effect on me in certain ways.

I think about my relationship with my mother, who I’m very close to. When that event happened she was there for me, in spite of the tragedy that she went through. We’ve always maintained a tight bond between us, and I think a lot of it goes back to that event. She remarried when I was five years old and my stepfather, to me, is just my dad.

I feel almost as if I’m fortunate because I have two fathers. I have my father whose name I carry. I’m a junior, Michael James Noone Jr., and I’m extremely proud to carry that name, and carrying on his legacy and the life he didn’t get to live. But I also have my father now, who has been an amazing influence on my life. I have two younger sisters, one from each of my fathers, who I am extremely close with. I feel blessed and fortunate to have both of my sisters. When I think about what’s had the most impact on my life, it’s family. Of all the events that you have no control over in your life, this is the one I think about most. I feel really fortunate more than anything when I think back on how my family came together under difficult circumstances, and how close we’ve all been as a result. When I think of the person I am today, I owe all of that to my family, and especially my parents. My parents are my two heroes, my mom and my dad, and I have another person looking out for me too.

One response

  1. suecaffey@verizon.net | Reply

    I just love this feature!  Freddie and Connor are doing an amazing job, and I look forward to reading these whenever they appear

Leave a Reply

